Skip to main content

Learn about COVID-19 testing and treatment. Or how to get vaccinated.

Lake Regional Hosts Adult Mental Health First Aid Trainings

Wednesday, October 26, 2022

Just as CPR helps you assist an individual having a heart attack, Mental Health First Aid helps you assist someone experiencing a crisis related to mental health or substance use.

“Lake Regional will host Adult Mental Health First Aid courses that teach you how to recognize signs of substance abuse and mental illness, including anxiety, depression and disorders involving psychosis,” said Emily Charsha, R.N., BSN, Lake Regional education coordinator – student relations. “You also will learn how to offer and provide initial help, and how to guide a person toward appropriate care if necessary.”

You must be at least 18 years old to participate.

Adult Mental Health First Aid blends online and in-person instruction. You will complete two hours of self-paced training at least three days prior to your in-person class. Each class is from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. You must register at least two weeks in advance of your class. Registration is open now for the following dates:

  • Tuesday, Dec. 13
  • Tuesday, Jan. 24
  • Tuesday, Feb. 14
  • Tuesday, March 14
  • Tuesday, April 25
  • Tuesday, May 23
  • Tuesday, June 20
  • Tuesday, July 25
  • Tuesday, Aug. 22

Each course is free, thanks to a generous donation from the family of Rusty Spieler, M.D.

Register at lakeregional.com/events to receive links for the online instruction. For more information, call Lake Regional Public Relations at 573.348.8222.

###